Pumphrey's Math

Patterns, everywhere

The Great Wall of Questions

Leave a comment

photo 1

Any strategy that raises the level and status of questioning in my room is useful. I found that there were times when a student asked a great question but that it was just no the time to go into that topic too deeply. I have also found that there are times when I have a 5-10 minutes gap in my lesson where these topics would fit into nicely.

The Great Wall of Questions is my attempt to solve these two problems at once. If a student asks a great question, then I proclaim ‘get it on the board!’ to the delight of the person that asked. They know that if it goes on there I think it is an important question, one that is worth thinking about for a longer period of time. When there is a good moment I will take a question and try to get students thinking about some answers or at least ways to find the answers (I am going to avoid just answering the questions as much as I can). Here are the rules:

  • A question only goes on the board if it has come out of genuine curiosity (rather than an attempt to get their name on the board)
  • Their name goes with the question and the color of the stickie determines which class it came from
  • When the question has been addressed (different from answered), a small dot goes on there so we can see what needs to be looked at in the future.

I only have four questions on there so far this semester (after 8 school days). I am hoping that by the end of the semester the board will be full. Here goes….

photo 2photo 3

Author: PumphreysMath

A British Math(s) Teacher now living in Indianapolis, USA, aiming to show my students how questions are often more important than answers. Presenter of the MathEd Out Podcast and contributor for the Guardian Teacher Network.

Leave a Reply

