Pumphrey's Math

Patterns, everywhere

Summer Reading 2014

2 Comments

Summer is rapidly approaching. A great time to reflect and decide what I want the next 12 months to look like. Time is precious and I want to read books that will not just improve my philosophy but that will help on a day to day basis. I am currently looking forward to devouring these two books:

I’ve been thinking a lot this year about how to teach my students how to learn, how to think for themselves and direct their own learning. I’ve skim read ‘Making Thinking Visible’ before but I’ve been looking forward to going through this with a fine toothed comb and extracting every word of worth from its pages. The philosophy statements in the first couple of chapters is worth a read all on its own. It seems clear that students who can name and show their thinking processes do a lot better than those that just go with the flow. I would like my classroom to foster the former. Thoughts to be blogged/tweeted as I go along.

This is the other book I’m really looking forward to going through. It has come highly recommended and anything that is going to help me become better at asking questions and promoting debate and discussion is worth a look. I haven’t even opened this yet so watch this space for highlights online and in my classroom.

Because LeCarre is amazing.

What will you be reading this summer? Any recommendations?

 

Author: PumphreysMath

A British Math(s) Teacher now living in Indianapolis, USA, aiming to show my students how questions are often more important than answers. Presenter of the MathEd Out Podcast and contributor for the Guardian Teacher Network.

2 thoughts on “Summer Reading 2014

  1. I’ve started the first book, but I never finished it. I definitely want to revisit it this summer. And, I just ordered the second book today. I need to write a post about my summer reading plans! (First, I need to finalize my summer reading plans…)

Leave a Reply

