Pumphrey's Math

Patterns, everywhere

Summer 2013

2 Comments

The summer is an amazing opportunity to step back and reflect on the teaching and learning that takes place in my classroom. For this I have two strategies:

  1. Take part in the free Stanford Online Course: EDUC115N. If you are involved with Math Education, you should definitely consider going through this with your department.
  2. Reflect on what I see as each part of the learning process in the classroom: Inspiration (Why Math?), Creation (How Math?) and Preparation (Which Math?).

Here are some questions I will trying to answer:

Inspiration

  • What activities are going to create the need for the math in each unit/lesson?
  • Where can I incorporate Dan Meyer’s 3acts style lessons into the curriculum?

Creation

  • How can I develop student questioning and facilitating their finding out the answers rather than just disseminating independent skills that they need to regurgitate?
  • How can I stretch my most gifted students?

Preparation/Practice

  • How am I going to prepare my students well for standardized testing?
  • How can I make this part of the lesson a lot more fun?

I think I would be happy next year if I could improve on these things.

What about your teaching will you be reflecting on this summer?

Author: PumphreysMath

A British Math(s) Teacher now living in Indianapolis, USA, aiming to show my students how questions are often more important than answers. Presenter of the MathEd Out Podcast and contributor for the Guardian Teacher Network.

2 thoughts on “Summer 2013

  1. I could have written this as my to do list looks similar. I also plan to refine my standards (I assess using standards based grading) and find ways to incorporate some of “engagement techniques” required by my district.

Leave a Reply

